Mark As Read
Mark As Read
3.9 Non-Fiction Review
0:00
-33:32

3.9 Non-Fiction Review

New episode is now available

3.9 Non-Fiction Review

I love non-fiction so much, but I know it can be hard to get into. Every season, we will have one non-fiction review episode where I give you a short overview of some of the non-fiction books I have read and enjoyed lately. Then, if any sound good, you can explore those instead of having to sift through all of the non-fiction out there! This review will include 5 books I have read plus 5 non-fiction books I'm looking forward to reading.

1. Maladies of Empire: How Colonialism, Slavery, and War Transformed Medicine by Jim Downs
2. Fashion Victims: The Dangers of Dress Past and Present by Alison Matthews David
3. Our Unfinished March: The Violent Past and Imperiled Future of the Vote. A History, A Crisis, A Plan by Eric Holder with Sam Koppelman
4. The Radium Girls: the Dark Story of America's Shining Women by Kate Moore
5. Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea by Barbara Demick 

For more, subscribe to our newsletter and check out our website!

What is your favorite type of non-fiction? Do you have a favorite non-fiction book?

Buy Maladies of Empire

Buy Fashion Victims

Buy Our Unfinished March

Buy The Radium Girls

Buy Nothing to Envy

Next week for Episode 10, we will have our second Throne of Glass episode and discuss The Assassin’s Blade and Heir of Fire.

For Episode 11:

  • One of my few authors who I will buy anything she writes

  • New book

  • Strong female lead

  • Historical fiction


Here are five other non-fiction books that are at the top of my TBR:

All the Beauty in the World by Patrick BringleyEmpress of the Nile by Lynne OlsonAmerican Prometheus by Kai Bird and Martin J. SherwinThe Holocaust by Laurence ReesThe Book Thieves by Anders Rydell

Other things to do

  • Something to listen to: Math is not my strong suit and statistics are not even on my radar, but Five Thirty Eight makes it interesting and understandable. They break down political polls to explain what they mean and how the information is being used.

  • Something else to read: This article investigating the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire decades later was super interesting and reminded me of Radium Girls! Plus Fashion Victims mentions this historical moment.

  • Something to watch: I haven’t watched it yet, but The Radium Girls was made into a movie not long ago and I’m going to have to add it to my watch list now.

Discussion about this podcast

Mark As Read
Mark As Read
Mark As Read is a podcast devoted to discovering, reading, and obsessing over books.