Mark As Read
Mark As Read
3.7 The Messy Lives of Book People
0:00
-45:25

3.7 The Messy Lives of Book People

New episode is now available

3.7 The Messy Lives of Book People by Phaedra Patrick

Unusually for me, The Messy Lives of Book People was a very conflicting book. On the one hand, I loved the story line of Liv trying to finish the book of her favorite author under mysterious circumstances and how Patrick tied all of the story lines together in the end. On the other hand, some of the characters, specifically Jake, were absolutely infuriating and made me want to stop reading. What do you think about this book and how did it make you feel?

Plus, since this episode was a week late, there is bonus content! I read a short novella that is part of a larger fantasy world called Six Scorched Roses by Carissa Broadbent and I'm absolutely obsessed. We will definitely be reading the larger series in the future!

For more, subscribe to our newsletter and check out our website!

What is a book that is conflicting for you?

Buy The Messy Lives of Book People

Buy Six Scorched Roses

Next week for Episode 8, we will be discussing A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness.

Episode 9 is going to be our non-fiction episode of Season 3!


Other things to do

  • Something to listen to: The first podcast that I ever got into and one that is still a go-to for me is The Daily from the New York Times. While I don’t love everything, they are consistently better than other news podcasts.

  • Something else to read: The Thursday Murder Club has been on my TBR for what feels like forever and I am looking forward to starting it.

  • Something to watch: We have been watching The Gentlemen on Netflix. There is also a movie based on the same premise which is great and we are loving the show.

Discussion about this podcast

Mark As Read
Mark As Read
Mark As Read is a podcast devoted to discovering, reading, and obsessing over books.