Mark As Read
Mark As Read
3.11 The Phoenix Crown
0:00
-26:51

3.11 The Phoenix Crown

New episode is now available

3.11 The Phoenix Crown by Kate Quinn and Janie Chang

I have been waiting for a new release by Kate Quinn to do an episode since I started this podcast. Kate Quinn is an absolutely fabulous historical fiction writer (the best in the business if you ask me) and I have wanted to share my first reactions to one of her books with you. She always manages to add twists, turns, and surprises that are so fascinating. In this book, she teams up with Janie Chang to explore San Francisco in 1906 right before the earthquake and fire. This was a new time period for me, but I absolutely loved this story and I hope you do too. 

Do you have a favorite historical fiction author or book?

For more, subscribe to our newsletter and check out our website!

Buy The Phoenix Crown

Next week for Episode 12, we will be discussing Lightlark and Nightbane by Alex Aster.

For Episode 13, we will be discussing The Heiress by Rachel Hawkins.


Want to read one of the other Kate Quinn books mentioned in the episode? Check them out here.

The Alice NetworkThe Rose CodeThe HuntressThe Diamond Eye

Other things to do

  • Something to listen to: In preparation for new Taylor Swift later this month, I have been listening to different albums from her. Lately, I have been in the mood for Reputation more than anything else.

  • Something else to read: I mentioned The Holocaust: A New History by Laurence Rees in our non-fiction episode and I have finally had a chance to start it this week.

  • Something to watch: I know I am very behind on this, but we have started watching Doctor Who. We just finished Christopher Eccleston’s season and I’m really enjoying it.

Discussion about this podcast

Mark As Read
Mark As Read
Mark As Read is a podcast devoted to discovering, reading, and obsessing over books.